Midweek Scrubs for the Soul

Hey Soul Mommas,

It is Wednesday and each hump day I want to have a special treat ready for you to get you through the week! I myself deal with exzema on a day to day basis right behind my knees and in the creases of my arms and it is very bothersome during Winter. Winter is the most harsh on my skin and since it’s warming up it is time to revive my color and moisture. My all time favorite way to transition into the warmer months are all natural body scrubs. Body scrubs are a great way to exfoliate the skin and cleanse the body a little beyond a regular body wash bath.

I want to share with you two all natural body scrubs that you can make at home and tips on deep conditioning your body. I personally named these scrubs by the aroma you get from them and these recipes are my own but you can change the ingredients to your liking. These recipes are very simple and items to purchase are very budget friendly!

Island Citrus Scrub

1 tablespoon of lemon zest

1 cup sea salt

1 cup of coconut oil

1 teaspoon of grapefruit essential oil

Mix these together in no order at all and you have a fruity scrub perfect for your morning shower!

“DeAngelo”

1/2 cup of coconut oil

1/2 cup brown sugar *wink*

1 teaspoon of honey

1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of used coffee grounds

Mix these ingredients in no order at all and enjoy this sweet sugary scrub in the evening after a long busy day! If you are yeast infection prone, use sea salt or epsom salt.

black-woman-shower_240x340_64

Tips for using your DIY scrubs:

Apply your scrubs to damp skin when cleansing.

Use your scrubs within 12 days to prevent using moldy or bacteria infested scrub.

When exfoliating use a loofah to help the scrub remove dead skin and toxins.

Use circular motions for maximum exfoliating.

Rinse thoroughly after using your scrubs.

Feel free to try different oils! Coconut oil is just my “run to” for the skin.

Soul mommas, I hope these recipes help you get over that hump! Also, if you know any other great recipes to get the skin glowing please let me know!

Comment like share and subscribe to Soul Mommas!

Leave a Reply

